CBGB w. CDBG

This ain’t no HUD club, or CDBG

This is a famous rock group called The Ramones (I never heard) in front of a club CBGB in New York I went to once.

This is a famous rock group called The Ramones (I never heard) in front of a club CBGB in New York I went to once.

Help me write a parody of “Life During Wartime” by Talking Heads about the gentrification of Stevenson House in Palo Alto, founded by the Unitarians in 1968 but taken over by billionaire real estate investors in 2015..

CBGB was an historic rock club on Bowery in New York, and originally stood for “country, blue grass, blues” but is known for new wave and punk shows, between 1973 and 2006.

CDBG stands for, I’m guessing Community Development Block Grants, whatever that means, and was name checked in a memo from Assistant City Attorney Cara E. Silver on Monday, March 9, 2015.stevensonhouse

HUD is not a movie starring Paul Newman but Housing and Urban Development. The Talking Heads lyrics is “This ain’t no Mudd Club, or CBGBs…”

I went to CBGB exactly once, and saw a Japanese, female-fronted punk band, circa 2001, called Ghost Chiaki. I definitely saw “Stop Making Sense” as a first-run movie, at Hopkins Center The Hop Dartmouth in 1985 when it was new. I saw Patti Smith at the Warfield in 2007.

Just as CBGB is now either a Patagonia at 315 Bowery, a website, a pretty bad recent movie with Alan Rickman as Hilary Krystal, Stevenson House for 120 or so middle class to poor seniors is probably in jeopardy of gentrification due to the complicated financial schemes perpetrated by their board and advisors, even though the conversion is slightly vetted Monday, being pulled from consent by Dubois, Wolbach and Burt. Scharff and Berman were noticeably silent — I wonder if Scharff and Berman were approached by the money people and said “please stay silent here.”

The entire nature of LIHTC is worth exploring. The funny NIMBYism about it is that in some places, like Dallas, Texas people worry about LIHTC projects because it means poor people moving in. Here, we, or I, but I know I’m not alone, worry that LIHTC means billionaire sharks moving in, as a Trojan Horse, excuse the mixed metaphor. (I also quoted George Carlin that the for profit limited partnership managing the for profit limited liability corporation managing the non profit senior residences is like “jumbo shrimp” — are they very large shrimp or shrimpy jumbos?)^

I got some cat food some peanut butter, to last a couple of days.

Besides the fun of using pop references to get a tack on policy, it is true that there is a war in America between the uber-rich and the rest of us. (And there is war in at least two countries, and we spend Trillions on it, and 7,000 Americans dead, if I am not being redundant).

I’ve changed my hairstyle so many times now I’m not sure what I look like.

(I also quoted “Puzzling Evidence” about recent policy doings, some months back).

Om fug.

edit to add: I could pierce this with links, like a punk’s ear.
http://www.amazon.com/What-Songs-Look-Like-Contemporary/dp/0060962054

^ my bad: this chart shows, there are four for-profit entities managing the non profit senior center, not merely two.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in ethniceities, Plato's Republic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

