Things I Don’t Understand: The Graduate as Comedy

I was fact-checkng something about how Pi Day, which I hope to celebrate for the very first time, or berry first time, this weekend, and a half-remembered line from Buck Henry’s “The Graduate” and Mike Nichols’ and found myself in a time-warp to a brave new world of Waiting Is Not The Hardest Part my fellow WordPress blogger, and added, to her 80 previous comments, from My Birthday Two Years Ago, about her not thinking The Graduate should be filed “comedy”, that she is missing a great effect. Which is a line. When Ben or Dustin loves Elaine but is trying to be mean to her and drags her to a strip show and humiliates her and the performer is spinning her pasties I guess in opposite directions, one clockwise and one counter-clockwise; it’s not funny because she is humiliated, the irony in the classical sense, we know what the two characters stuck in the script don’t know, that he loves her so he’s being mean, and that’s why it’s funny, right? That, and him approaching the hotel clerk and fake-yawning and saying he found his tooth brush, and will turn in now. Like today, I had a large stack of books at Palo Alto College Terrace library and I asked the clerk or librarian or staff member, who is also Pinay, by the way, if you are spilling over from below, about Pi Day w. Pinay, if at that branch they sell friends of the library canvas tote bags, I would buy another, rather than balancing my books and giving self carpal tunnel, and she offers me a plastic not quite reusable grocery or I would say garbage bag, and I say not thanks, and what I’m getting to, back to “The Graduate” is indeed in my trunk I do have another bag, canvas, from Stanford Hospital and I’m all set and I wanted to run back in there and say “all set”.

I will try to read more of this blog more currently and get her drift. Save me a piece, sweetie. And in real life I don’t call people “sweety” although someone just hit me with that the other day, must be from New Orleans.

Also, Mazel tov it sounds like she wrote this when pregnant. I added that part later.

The Waiting

Back when Wee Cee was just a glimmer in her daddy’s eye, I had the idea to start a blog about all the things I, as an adult, did not understand or was incapable of doing. That blog never occurred and taking a page from the Irony Handbook, I started a pregnancy blog instead. Oh wait, you didn’t know that the best possible thing to do when you don’t understand how to balance a checkbook is to make people?

Luckily, C has almost made it through her first year alive so I guess I’m doing something right. And just as luckily, I recently found out that this blog exists and whatever I could have written on the topic of being an amateur adult would not have even held a candle to Greg’s blog. The universe balances itself out yet again.

But in case you need more proof of how baffled…

View original post 610 more words

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in ethniceities, media, sex and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

