Dog Byte red nose in La-la

dogbytelosangelesrednose

I just updated a post from 2011 to lament that the stencil art of Miles Davis, on Cali Ave, near the Joey Piziali et al triptych was deleted. But the actual murals, paid for by we taxpayers, remain.

This sent me to digress for a minute to find this recent 2013 article about Dog Byte. I forget how I heard about him, but he is one of my favorite LA street artists.

I am gonna cut and paste the writeup this site gave him.

If life imitates art, then we should all be prepping for the apocalypse, based on the work of Dog Byte. He reminds us through subtle juxtaposition how fleeting innocence is, where slightly shocking images demand examination. Instead of just toying with images ingrained in our culture, he utterly destroys them. It might be a well-worn trope, but one that Dog Byte applies to a large scale and an unnerving edge in a new, innovative way. (dale eisinger for Complex dot com)

edit to add, a minute later: I saw a Dog Byte sticker on a Chevy Cruze

twenty minutes later, an and1:
I tagged Complex dot com with thisly
David Choe, SKWRM & DOZE, I’m No Expert, I mean, I am no expert, but I would think they rate, some of the old school subway taggers IZ THE WIZ I think; I think MBW is Banksy, as well. By the way, I am MBW as well, but not that MBW. How about props to John Adams and the Boston Tea Party crew, not street art but street theatre, pre-Debord variety. Barnstormers I mean. David Ellis. Rigo. Or do you rule out people who take grants, commissions and sneaker money? (article about 50 all-time street artists; I should admit that I like David Ellis because I once managed his kid brother the music John A. Ellis, sax.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in art, la la and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

