Two seconds of Led Zep in honor of Palo Alto’s Bridge debate, at tonight’s meeting

I played two seconds of “The Crunge” from “Houses of the Holy” because of the tossed off line “where’s the confounded bridge?”. The song they say is a James Brown homage.

Phyllis Wasserman a former commissioner turned around and I muted. There was a five minute break, before Mike Sartor public works director started the discussion.

I spoke previously claiming the thing, at $10 M, is a pork feed.

The song in this post, the “she” in the song is the bridge:
She’s my baby let me tell you that I love her so and
And! She’s the woman I really wanna love
And let me tell you more, oooh!
She’s my baby she lives next door
She’s the one a woman the one a woman that I know.

There’s actually more people here at Council now than for the Comp Plan review.

It seems a little late to say “kill this” based on price.

edit to add: Joshua Redman, who has cousins the Shedroffs in this community, or did, Nathan and Daniel my Gunn classmates, covered this 1973 jam in 2005. I tell you what, I nominate Josh to play that song here if the confounded bridge gets guilted. Josh Redman will be in the area April 7 a one-off with Kuumbwa Dream Team band (roy hargrove, christian mcbride) and then parts of the west in june with Bad Plus. Here is slink with impressive doings re our new bridge.

and1; i am tempted to stand up in public and make a fool of self in that to my mind I would rather provide rent relief to 1,000 Palo Alto families than have a fancy pants bridge here. Ten million dollars I guess is worth $5 per ride for 2 million future riders, how long would that take? or for families already here, who are being forced out by rising rents –mine has gone up 40 percent since 2008, or about $800 — I am counting $500 times 20,000, or a thousand families for almost two years, to figure out if they can stay or can go. Or as a more humanistic transition out of our middle class. (I know that the buckets are not the same buckets, but this stinks like pork).

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Plato's Republic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

