Will Bernard for money

(For some reason, I post things to my blog that I don’t actually follow up on in real life. I was going to write to Will Bernard, then thought better. If any friends of fans of Will read this, tell him I say hey. This offer semi-expires. )

Hey, Will.
I have this project where I pay musicians to busk at Lytton Plaza, in Palo Alto.
I have $XXXX budget.

Ben Goldberg and Taylor Ho Bynum recently played here on a similar basis in September, 2014.

Your website gig archive claims you last played Palo Alto in summer 2007 with Baguette Quartet. (Not sure if I’ve seen you since!!)

My recollection is you also played here WBQ opening for Charlie in 1997 and with TJK in 1995.

It’s about time, yo.

mark weiss
650.GIG.!!!!

i also am doing monthly or less showcases at a little cafe in Menlo Park, Cafe Zoe, ticketed, at the door, also pays $XXXX per performer, I charge about $10 at door, so far it’s been unplugged singer songwriters more than jazz or instrumental.

Some day there may be a real venue here, but it is getting worse not better in terms of the rent.

will_antilles_sm
(I’m also wondering if the HanaHaus thing will pan out, for the benefit of emerging and underpaid musicians, as distinct from Foreigner even at a benefit rate at Menlo Circus Club. Ninety nine percent of what I’ve done in the arts is targeting the middle class not tapping the rich for nobles oblige or what not — or I’m a hater).

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

