Total recall (2016)

scharffenegger

scharffenegger

The Downtown Cap as prescribed in the Comp Plan, on the books since at least 1998, would dictate a moratorium on further builds there, pipeline be damned.

That current council, 5/9s of which were elected as so called “Residentialists”, changes the subject from “Downtown Cap” to “Annual Floating Approximate Pretty Please Thank You Sir Can I Have Another Cap, Halo or Scarf” is simply put, cowardice.

I would say “moratorium” or “total recall”.

(And although Steve Levy always deletes my obscure pop references, “Total Recall” is also the name of a movie in which a future Governor of California or his character sends himself a video letter about the things he has forgotten to do, or the true nature of the crazy dystopian world he lives in).

edit to add: Steve Levy edited out 3/4s of my comment and then what remains is “false’ so I added a comment 9 hours later:

OK Steve you are correct and I have oversimplified the case or am technically incorrect in that it was Sophie Martin of Bhatia et al who Jim Keene commissioned that is paid to tell us on December 10, 2014 at the Planning Commission meeting to switch the discussion from Policy L-8 or whatever in the Comp Plan from Downtown cap, ” to “annual cap” which I would term s regulation or guideline yet rather permissive and gutless and ultimately ineffectual and a capitulation as much as what I so disresoectfully or irrelevrntly or irlevyly called a failure of will of leadership here to face down the billion dollar real estate cartel, the people you are indebted to and reliant upon for your survival and that likewise Bill Johnson is.
But feel free be my guest to alter my words and then have the gall to call “false” you pausing to remove your fat face, burpingly from your deep suck of the Moloch teet.

Posted by Mark Weiss, a resident of Downtown North,
9 hours ago
Mark Weiss is a registered user.
The Downtown Cap as prescribed in the Comp Plan, on the books since at least 1998, would dictate a moratorium on further builds there, pipeline be damned.

SL; The above statement by Mark is false., There is a downtown square feet limit of 350,000, with a trigger for study when 235,000 square feet have been built. The city just initiated a study because the downtown square foot 235,000 square foot trigger has been met. The study findings are available below for interested readers.

[Web Link ](to the study by Bhatia SF about 70 pages I skimmed before replying — by the way, how much did we pay those guys?)

[portion deleted–disrespectful and irrelevant comments

and1: I wrote this on my handheld, my cell, while sitting outdoors at dusk, under ReedMadden poppies on Cali Ave, enjoying a yogurt parfait from Palo Alto Cafe and skimming the Chron for relevant gist for the mill but checked back to see what had become of my post and then counter-posting, jumped into my car to rush back to Terry’s place to open my laptop jobbie to cut and paste and rescue my work before it’s imminent slaughter. Like I say, the Weekly is not so much a market place of ideas as a slaughter house and mockery of such.

posted this minutes later:
and1: I wrote this on my handheld, my cell, while sitting outdoors at dusk, under ReedMadden poppies on Cali Ave, enjoying a yogurt parfait from Palo Alto Cafe and skimming the Chron for relevant gist for the mill but checked back to see what had become of my post and then counter-posting, jumped into my car to rush back to Terry’s place to open my laptop jobbie to cut and paste and rescue my work before it’s imminent slaughter. Like I say, the Weekly is not so much a market place of ideas as a slaughter house and mockery of such.

My language is metaphorical: I don’t actually imagine the Good Doctor of social science engaged in intimate acts with monsters, mythological or otherwise.

Moloch is Biblical, but it appears in Ginsberg “Howl” which is partly about the same issues, real estate development and crass commercial culture.

andand: Wow. By the time I posted that last bit,the entire Moloch section had been all et up.

andandand: This is the relevant plot bit from the 1990 movie:
After evading his attackers, Quaid (Arnold) is given a suitcase containing money, gadgets, fake IDs, a disguise, and a video recording. The video is of Quaid himself, who identifies himself as “Hauser” and explains that he used to work for Cohaagen, but learned about the artifact and underwent the memory wipe to protect himself. “Hauser” instructs Quaid to remove a tracking device located inside his skull before ordering him to go to Mars and meet “Kuato”, the leader of the rebels. I am saying we may need a type of intervention before we agree to remember what we told ourselves we would do in 2015. The story, based on Philip K. Dick is set in 2048.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, Plato's Republic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

