Do Muslim women need saving?

Attiyah Ahmad, after Abu-Lughod, Sharin Nesrah, Stanford April, 2015

Attiyah Ahmad, after Abu-Lughod, Sharin Nesrah, Stanford April, 2015

The lecturer, who has two degrees from Duke, and is a visiting scholar in the Stanford Humanities program, recommends this book:
http://www.amazon.com/Do-Muslim-Women-Need-Saving/dp/0674725166

and1: I have a tremendous respect for the Cantor exhibit “She Who Tells A Story” and have covered if in abundance here. I have more measured reactions to the excellent panel I caught the bulk of yesterday. And I wanted to further my tribute my posting or re-posting or re-contextualizing a group of portraits of women I shot or collected recently, here and on my smarty pants phone-camera do-hicky.

Not sure this belongs here but the madness must be catching:

Near the spot I read "Howl"  destroyed by madness et cetera a clerk I could see from the street had a matching message on her right foot, damn the kerning

Near the spot I read “Howl” destroyed by madness et cetera a clerk I could see from the street had a matching message on her right foot, damn the kerning

Which somehow reminds me I want to translate Ginsberg “Howl” into Farsi.

If I had to try to make sense and be stood here I would say the entirety of the matter is the distinction between surface and substance, and that media only makes the issue worse. So RTFO for the countering efforts of heroic artists and utterers, with or without udders. But I must say I am torn or see-sawing between reverence for the text/content versus poet/photographer/artist/scholar. I did briefly correspond (and basically worship) Rania Matar; I actually wrote a graffito on a bench near Cantor: matar. Partly for the pun. I came upon the panel quick by accident, stayed for close to an hour but not the entirety. Then I re-visited briefly the show itself. I’ve seen several eye-opening and horizon-widening Persian programs at The Farm.

I was also thinking of Brian Swimme notion that the universe is a story as much as a place. Mixed with Whitman notion that all our thoughts, our words and deeds all matter. Mixed with Chaos Theory. Add in Heisenberg. And magic. Namaste. One love. Shalom. Salaam. Peace.

To the matter put. One, I don’t know. Two, I am guessing she AbuLugod is arguing against intervention and for a version of “sisters are doing it for themselves”. When I left NPR had a show about Kotex ads for very young women. Weird segue. Rahimieh added to Ahmad’s notion on the hand. Oh, yeah. And later that evening Courtney Love was on Letterman while Madonna was on Fallon. And she has a song “bitch, I’m Madonna”. Also: It’s not nice to fool Mother Nature. Theres apparently a youtube about kotex with 30 million views, for vetter or for verse.

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in media, sex and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

