Kim Gordon LOL twice in ten minutes

Kim Gordon “Girl in a Band” I procured this a.m. around 9:30 good start to the week, b/w the Brian Grazer book that Charlie Rose plugged the other night, and I used my buy 10 get the 11th kinda free, from Books Inc at Town and Country.

I laughed out loud twice in ten pages: that on her first trip to England a worker at the venue found a syringe and assumed it was from her band; that Henry Rollins invented “twerking”.

I saw Sonic Youth exactly once, opening for REM at Shoreline circa 1998 with half the staff of my Earthwise crew from the Cub, which is sort of like saying I’ve never seen them. I have to admit I never heard of Gerhard Richter until I met Terry my Terry or about 2009, so kudos for Daydream Nation and apparently the Death Valley ’69 single cover or something.

Jon Wuster never wrote back to say how useful or not my notes for him were, interviewing Kim at Cat’s Cradle last month. No worries.

At Cubberley, I remember patrolling the parking lot after a show and being too tired to pick up four semi-crushed beer cans. I said to self “only four cans”. Of course the facilities manager, in the City of Palo Alto Recreation Department, called me that Monday morning and said “Hey, Mark, we found FOUR beer cans in the parking lot…”.

edit to add: minutes later, sitting at Coupa downtown P.A. cannot help but overhear the banter of the next billionaires and think that I must have laughed out loud five times in the 30 minute season premier of “Silicon Valley” tm on HBO, which I noted had Roger McNamee as a consultant. I might have to re-watch to mark where the laughs lay. I am also re-thinking my chance meeting with someone who beliviaby claims to be a former Pandora employee, take the money and run, but that she said first that she was in advertising then that she did finance for Pandora, which might have meant keeping track of what passes for royalties and maybe she is just a great liar which helps meeting strangers in a cafe or working in Silicon Valley, I’m sure, but I would say probably does not deserve to wear even a quasi-lame Record Store Day t-shirt with a Crosley faux-retro turntable depicted, I own. I’m also over due on a 3-pronged “fox” story or post about cover of PAW, my and Syrett’s “fox says ding” and maybe that I met “fox-face” from hunger games who is enrolled at Stanford.

yeah yeah yeah i’m only making it verse to outro with this:

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in sex, words and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

