Will Palo Alto rule ‘heartside-up’?

attorney for Buena Vista residents addressing Palo Alto City council, tuesday, April 14, 2014

attorney for Buena Vista residents addressing Palo Alto City council, tuesday, April 14, 2014

9:40 pm i.e. three and two thirds hours into the hearing:
I’m going where there’s no depression
To the lovely land that’s free from care
I’ll leave this world of toil and trouble

I am thinking of the Carter Family song, “In Heaven There is No Depression” which to my peers gave birth to a movement called “No Depression”. It also calls to mind “Grapes of Wrath” by Steinbeck, which I read in 1980 at Gunn High. Leadership is saying something like we are losing this round but will win the war, so to speak, but I have my doubts. I have a sinking feeling. Why didn’t leadership get ahead of this long ago?

Has the Carter Family song I gloss been recorded in Spanish?

and1:
Uncle Tupelo version, and a quick search does not yield a Spanish version:

andand: meeting pushes on to 10:22, and I am thinking of Orson Welles as Harry Lime rhymes with slime in “The Third Man”:

Harry: You know, I never feel comfortable on these sort of things. Victims? Don’t be melodramatic. [gestures to people far below] Tell me. Would you really feel any pity if one of those dots stopped moving forever? If I offered you twenty thousand pounds for every dot that stopped, would you really, old man, tell me to keep my money, or would you calculate how many dots you could afford to spare? Free of income tax, old man. Free of income tax – the only way you can save money nowadays.(graham greene, screenwriter and author)

About markweiss86

Mark Weiss, founder of Plastic Alto blog, is a concert promoter and artist manager in Palo Alto, as Earthwise Productions, with background as journalist, advertising copywriter, book store returns desk, college radio producer, city council and commissions candidate, high school basketball player; he also sang in local choir, and fronts an Allen Ginsberg tribute Beat Hotel Rm 32
This entry was posted in Plato's Republic, words and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

